Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Board of Library Trustees

The Board of Library Trustees is a policy-making body that guides the development of library services. It is composed of seven volunteer citizens appointed by the County Executive. Their policy decisions impact all areas of library operations.

Board Meetings

Type Date Time Location
Open to the Public November 17, 2020  7:00 PM

Please click the link below to join the webinar:

Zoom Webinar
Webinar ID: 921 9266 5136
Passcode: BOLT112020

Or iPhone one-tap:

Or Telephone:
+1 301 715 8592 

*Please note that all Board of Library Trustees meetings can be followed by an executive session as needed.

Meet the Board of Library Trustees

Brett Crawford

Brett Crawford, President

Term: April 1, 2020 - December 31, 2024

Brett Crawford heads a management consulting firm focused on strategy, governance and innovation in the nonprofit and emerging businesses sectors. He has extensive experience promoting small business development, community development and education policy.

Previously, Brett served as Louisiana’s Secretary of Revenue responsible for the state’s tax policy and administration. He also headed Louisiana’s economic development financing agency. He currently chairs the board of directors of Volunteers of America Chesapeake and is an advisor on strategic partnership and collaboration issues for Compass.

Brett has an MBA from Dartmouth, a law degree from Georgetown, and a bachelor’s degree from LSU. He lives in Clinton, MD.

Samuel A. Epps, IV, Vice President

Samuel A. Epps, IV, Vice President

Term: 2016 - 2019

Samuel Epps is currently the Political Director for UNITE HERE Local 25, which is the union of 6,500 hotel workers who are the housekeepers, cooks, bellman, servers, and banquet waiters who provide hospitality to guests visiting the Washington D.C. Metro area. For the past 3 years, Sam has been responsible for policy, legislation, and electoral politics at the union. Sam is starting his tenth year in the labor movement, with past experience in non-profit work, state government, and campaign management.

Sam is a former member of Prince George’s Democratic Central Committee from District 21, and currently is the President of the Trustees at the First Baptist Church of North Bentwood, MD.

Sam is a graduate of Penn State University with a BA in Political Science. He resides in Laurel with his wife Zabrina.

Sylvia Bolivar

Sylvia Bolivar

Term: 2016 - 2021

Sylvia Bolivar has been a member of the Board of Library Trustees since June 2008. She advises municipalities on community and economic development programs.  Prior to that, Sylvia served as Senior Advisor for Placed-Based Initiatives at the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. In this capacity, she managed the Promise Zones Initiative working closely with local leaders to create jobs, improve educational outcomes, reduce violent crime and support overall economic growth and vitality. 

In November 2015, Sylvia was an honoree at the first annual Latinas Empowering Prince George’s County Award for her leadership and advocacy in Education. Sylvia Bolivar resides in College Park, MD. She can be found on weekends at the library with her young son.

Dr. Hiram Larew

Dr. Hiram Larew

Term: April 1, 2020 - December 31, 2024

Hiram Larew is retired from the U.S. Department of Agriculture where he served as Director of International Programs in USDA’s National Institute of Food and Agriculture.  As such, he helped oversee several USDA international programs that were implemented in close collaboration with American land-grant colleges and universities.  Those programs included agricultural marketing and extension efforts in Africa, Central and Eastern Europe, and Central America.  Before joining USDA/NIFA, Dr. Larew was the U.S. Agency for International Development’s liaison to the U.S. higher education community.  He began his career as a Research Scientist with USDA’s Agricultural Research Service.

In retirement, he serves as a Courtesy Faculty member focused on food security issues at Oregon State University, University of Georgia and Montana State University, and as Research Fellow at Baylor University.  His poetry has been published widely (On Facebook at Hiram Larew, Poet, at Poetry X Hunger and at The Poetry Poster Project.)  He lives in Upper Marlboro, MD.

Toni A. Smith

Toni A. Smith

Term: April 1, 2020 - December 31, 2024

A passionate advocate, Toni has a long-standing commitment to children's issues and an intimate understanding of the wide array of social justice issues faced by children, youth and families. She has worked in a variety of local and national youth advocacy nonprofit environments including The Forum for Youth Investment and the Department of Pediatrics at Howard University Hospital. She holds leadership roles in convening advocates and community organizing and has written numerous articles that have been published nationally and internationally. She is passionate about improving the lives of children and youth, empowering women and girls to reach their full potential, and supporting the vital work of community-based nonprofit organizations. Toni believes, that through service as a board trustee for the Prince George’s County Memorial Library System, enriching, engaging and illuminating the lives of others is absolutely achievable. 


Toni is the founder and executive director of In Reach, Inc. a nonprofit organization that prepares Prince George’s County students for college, work and life. She resides in Landover, Maryland.

Arthuree R. M. Wright

Dr. Arthuree R. M. Wright

Term: 2016 - December 31, 2022

Arthuree McLaughlin Wright retired from Howard University in May 2015 after serving 15 years as Associate Director of Information Services and two years as Interim Director of Libraries. She began her career in the Science Library at MIT in Cambridge after earning a B.A. in mathematics at Indiana University and the M.L.S. at Rutgers University. While at MIT, Arthuree was chair of the Board of Directors for the Cambridge YWCA. Later she completed the Ph.D. in library and information science at the University of Maryland.

At Howard Arthuree focused on information literacy, assessment of learning, and service effectiveness. Nationally, she chaired the Research Committee of the Association of College and Research Libraries and served on the American Library Association’s Committee on Accreditation.

From 2004 to 2012 Arthuree chaired the Board of Higher Education and Campus Ministry for the Baltimore Washington Conference (BWC) of the United Methodist Church. Prior to that appointment she chaired the BWC Task Force on Children and Poverty. Arthuree and her husband, Obie, a retired Methodist pastor, reside in Bowie.

Angela D. Smith

Ms. Angela D. Smith

Term: April 1, 2020 - December 31, 2024

Angela Smith joined the Board of Library Trustees in April 2020. She is a professional with more than 10 years’ experience working in print and web communications. For the past five years, she has worked at a healthcare research funding organization in Washington, DC, as a multimedia producer responsible for creating, producing, and overseeing all multimedia production. She is passionate about reading, education, health literacy, and the important role and impact public library systems have in the communities they serve.

Contact the Board

9601 Capital Lane, Largo, MD 20774